Skip to content
Sutton Counts — Sutton, in numbers.Local help →

Sutton, in numbers

People and living standards

Sutton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Sutton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 170,093 in 1991 to 213,972 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Sutton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 175,731 people in 1996; 213,972 people in 2025. 21.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991170,093
1992171,023
1993172,600
1994172,918
1995174,230
1996175,731
1997177,026
1998177,868
1999179,375
2000180,485
2001181,461
2002181,265
2003181,267
2004181,094
2005182,103
2006182,882
2007184,174
2008185,860
2009188,167
2010189,321
2011191,123
2012193,982
2013196,678
2014199,144
2015201,208
2016203,299
2017204,824
2018206,286
2019208,516
2020209,921
2021209,617
2022210,281
2023212,059
2024213,672
2025213,972
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Sutton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,411 people in 1996; 43,720 people in 2025. 20.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,281
199234,016
199334,728
199435,360
199535,876
199636,411
199736,781
199837,153
199937,217
200037,634
200137,651
200237,331
200337,177
200436,662
200536,705
200636,702
200736,975
200837,205
200937,773
201038,032
201138,174
201239,083
201339,781
201440,457
201541,362
201642,046
201742,668
201843,223
201943,711
202044,141
202143,895
202244,179
202344,325
202444,357
202543,720
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Sutton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 112,709 people in 1996; 136,723 people in 2025. 21.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991109,755
1992109,925
1993110,707
1994110,754
1995111,595
1996112,709
1997113,771
1998114,488
1999115,905
2000116,624
2001117,664
2002117,824
2003117,852
2004118,359
2005119,225
2006120,236
2007121,240
2008122,555
2009123,871
2010124,411
2011125,407
2012126,205
2013127,574
2014128,937
2015129,888
2016130,894
2017131,591
2018132,206
2019133,465
2020134,159
2021133,855
2022133,856
2023135,227
2024136,360
2025136,723
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Sutton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,611 people in 1996; 33,529 people in 2025. 26% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,057
199227,082
199327,165
199426,804
199526,759
199626,611
199726,474
199826,227
199926,253
200026,227
200126,146
200226,110
200326,238
200426,073
200526,173
200625,944
200725,959
200826,100
200926,523
201026,878
201127,542
201228,694
201329,323
201429,750
201529,958
201630,359
201730,565
201830,857
201931,340
202031,621
202131,867
202232,246
202332,507
202432,955
202533,529
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 209,636 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sutton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh36,78717.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African12,4655.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups10,1624.8%
White143,14568.3%
Other ethnic group7,0773.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 190,146 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sutton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White149,44978.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7,1343.8%
Asian/Asian British22,03511.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British9,1204.8%
Other ethnic group2,4081.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 179,768 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sutton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White160,35189.2%
Mixed3,7252.1%
Asian/Asian British8,5004.7%
Black/Black British4,6012.6%
Chinese/Other2,5911.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 5.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Sutton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,742 per person in 1997; £27,335 per person in 2024. 132.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,742
199812,073
199912,719
200013,617
200114,075
200214,297
200314,992
200415,786
200516,548
200617,040
200717,981
200818,325
200918,054
201018,436
201118,593
201219,560
201320,165
201420,507
201521,865
201622,161
201722,221
201823,391
201923,632
202023,209
202123,952
202225,080
202325,747
202427,335
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Sutton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 10.7% in 1997; 5.3% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Sutton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199710.7
199811.5
199912.4
200014.4
200113.8
200213
200315
200416.3
200517.7
200616.4
200717.2
200816.4
200912.8
201014.1
201114.1
201215.8
201315.1
201413.4
201514.9
201615.1
201712.8
201814.6
201912.2
202010.6
20219.7
20229.2
20235.3
20245.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.9%

21 March 2021 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16%

21 March 2021 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.2%

21 March 2021 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.9%

21 March 2021 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£453,000

July 2026 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,556

August 2026 · Sutton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.